What did you get for Christmas?

Well, here I am, back for a post-Christmas post. Just re-read that and it sounds funny but it is accurate. AS I post my list of things I got for Christmas, keep in mind that I am not bragging in the least. I, in no way, had an abundant Christmas. However, I felt that it might prove helpful to others if I posted what I got and my thoughts on each item.

This Christmas being on a extremely limited budget, we had to keep our purchases to less than $400.00. That being said we only bought two kinds of items this year. Video games and dvds. The kids, we knew would want video games and we wanted to get a few movies.

So let’s discuss the dvds 1st since we only got a couple worth discussing of those.

Pirates of the Caribbean was an absolute must have this Christmas season and of course we had to have it too! We all watched it together on Christmas day and found it to be as good as the 1st pirates movie. Lots of action ,comedy, adventure, and mystery. An all around great movie and worth every penny we paid for it.

Superman Returns-Also one of those movies many felt was something to be owned this Christmas season. The kids did seem to like this movie nearly as much. They claimed it was boring. I personally do not think it was bad. however, I would not place this movie even in my top 100 list(if I had such a list). If you are a really big fan of Superman then get this movie. otherwise a rental should suffice.

Although, we did get other dvds, the rest were considerably older and have been reviewed many times over by now so I shall not discuss those. Instead I will move on to the video games.

Gears Of War– This game was the 1st one we played and it was enjoyed by both me and the kids. For those with younger kids it should be noted that the blood can be turned off. This game has the best graphics of any game I have ever played. The gameplay is smooth and interesting. It is not just a shooter as it appears to be. Some tactics do go a long ways in the game. My only beef with it is that it is short. The game is a co-op game and only takes two people playing it for two days to finish on the casual level difficulty. The hardcore mode lasts considerably longer but that is only because you both die so much! Overall it it is a good game but would be a better value if purchased used.

Lara Croft Tomb Raider:Legend– This did not take too long either. 2 or 3 days to complete. The puzzles were the hardest part of the game. Hard enough that my youngest son(age 10) got stuck on the 1st major puzzle. It did not have any replay value for me as I did not want to play any timed challenges. I do not like playing any game that is timed. I did purchase this game new for $30.00 and that was a decent price for it. If you can get this for that price ,then go for it.

Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess( Gamecube)– This was the big gift for the family this year. Seeing as we could not afford a Wii system (if we could of even found one) and this game would have been the major reason for buying the system. It was a great relief and surprise to find this game for our gamecube.

Both of my kids have immersed themselves into this game. The graphics are as good as anything you can get on the gamecube or Wii and the story is long and deep. There are a number of familiar elements to this game and a whole lot of new surprises. I have not started playing it myself and am kinda afraid to. Not sure I want to lose another 2 or 3 months to the game. If you have never played a Zelda game(have to wonder where you have been), this is a great way to get started. If you are a Zelda vet, this game has enough new elements to keep you interested.

Well, not a big list but hopefully even this small list will help those who consider these games and dvds in the future.

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Comments

Filed under General Stuff, Thoughts

3 responses to “What did you get for Christmas?

  1. Oh shucks, I wonder where I have been, seeing that I have never played Zelda before. Hahahha.

    Glad to hear you had a good X’mas! As for mine, well my family doesn’t have the tradition of exchanging/buying presents since the are quite the traditional Asians.

    Like

  2. notv

    wow you got a bounty! thank you for the kind comment. i know i’m being watched now! I’m curious to know what drastic thing you are planning for the new year?

    Like

  3. Bounty? Huh? Guess you will have to wait and see like everyone else!

    Like

Speak it or be silent!

