Amazing Crayola Artist !!!!

Being 1/4 native american(you certainly could not tell by looking at me) I found this art especially awesome. Keep in mind every picture was done with crayons.  Check it out!

ca1.jpg

Burt Reynolds

ca2.jpg

Tom Selleck

ca3.jpg

Sioux Warrior

ca4.jpg

Seascape

ca5.jpg

River Elk

ca6.jpg

Quigly

ca7.jpg

Navajo Meeting

ca81.jpg

Mountain Man

ca9.jpg

James Arness

ca10.jpg

High Country Morning

ca11.jpg

Geronimo

ca12.jpg

End of the Day

ca13.jpg

Apache

ca14.jpg

Bear Bull

ca15.jpg

Before The Storm

ca16.jpg

Black Eagle

ca17.jpg

Catch of the Day

ca18.jpg

Chief Red Wing

ca19.jpg

Clint Eastwood

ca20.jpg

John Wayne

ca21.jpg

Eagle

 I have to give full props to the guy who created these. Wish I could use crayons like this.

ca22.jpg

Don Marco, The Master Crayola Artist

Don Marco was born in Northern Minnesota in the late 1920’s.His interest in art was evident even before starting school.  As a young adult in the Army Air Corp, he began his life’s career in Air Traffic Control, which continued until his retirement from Honolulu International Airport in 1973. Much of his spare time was spent as a professional artist.

 

Before retirement, Don started developing a technique to create fine art, using Crayola Crayons.  Shortly after retiring, he published his first print.  Living in Southern California, his work was in demand, including commissions from Burt Reynolds and a one-man show at his Dinner Theater in Florida.

 

 

 

 

21 Comments

Filed under General Stuff, Pictures, Thoughts

21 responses to “Amazing Crayola Artist !!!!

  1. Wow.. hard to believe! I’ll never look at crayons the same again.

    Like

  2. Those are incredible!

    Like

  3. What a talented artist.

    Like

  4. some people can do faces well and some cant….I have trouble with noses

    Like

  5. Hi Axe, Very nice the way you have been featuring me. I have gotten wonderful responce from around the globe and all of it has been top drawer up until March 1. There are several comments (16) ON METEFILTER . Several have been degrading and cruel. That doesnt bother me but to depict such vulgarity is inhuman. Just wanted you to know this and once again, thank you for the fine way you have presented me. Don……………. if you wish, I can be reached through the web site. Don Bremer, web master is a buddy and is located two miles from my studio…………………

    Like

  6. I doubt those negative comments are from my readers.I rarely get any here.I made the post about your artwork on Jan.11th so that is indictive of the source of those comments being from somewhere else. I am glad you like the way I presented you and your art. I like to point out the outstanding and always give credit when I know whom to give it to.:)

    AXE

    Like

  7. Marilyn Burrow

    Don Marco’s artwork is incredible. Has he written any books explaining his technique? This is something I would like to experiment with. I am also retired and like to try new mediums. Thanks for your help.

    Like

  8. As you can see Mr. Don Marco replied to my post personally and says how he can be contacted. I am sure that will help you with your questions.:)

    AXE

    Like

  9. Elaine Heaton

    Don Marco artistry was sent vie email from a friend.when i forward the email Mr Marco art didn’t make it.
    I am glad i found his art again so it can be seen by my friends who wish to view his crayola art.
    If you ask me ,the person who wrote unspeakable remarks about the art work has a problem. Perhaps the person with the remarks never had the chance to color or draw with crayons when they were a child
    It is one of the best ways to use your imagination and express yourself when you are young and words do not come to mind. Too bad his art work isn’t for sale.

    Like

  10. OkmulgeeOkie

    Mr. Marco:

    You are truly an artist in every sense of the word. Too bad everyone cannot enjoy beauty when they see it. I am privileged to be one of the few who can.

    Mr. Axewielderx:

    I appreciate you posting Mr. Marco’s art so it can be enjoyed over and over again.

    Thank you both.

    Like

  11. Ray Wise

    As a retired art teacher I can really appreciate the work that Mr.Marco does with a crayon. It is unbelievable.

    Like

  12. Dennis

    absolutely stunning work.

    Like

  13. chris wharton

    I have four framed prints “signature series”. They are golden eagle prints and have gold bullion coins or replicas in the centre below the pictures. I understand they represent the courtship,marraige,births and divorce.

    I cannot find any info on the internet,can you help?

    Chris Wharton (Mr) Liverpool Merseyside UK

    Like

  14. sha murtha

    would you be able to tell me how to contact Don Marco? I have a friend that is organizing events for American Heritage Month here in Washington DC and would like to contact Mr. Marco. thanks for any assistance you can render.

    Like

  15. Read Mr Marco’s comments here.

    Like

  16. I am the program chairman for the Metro Washington DC chapter (DC109) of the Colored Pencil Society of America (CPSA) http://www.cpsa109.org/ I was wondering when you may happen to be in the Wash DC area and if you could show some of your work and talk to our group at one of our chapter meetings? Do you give workshops? If so I would be interested in exploring that idea as well.
    Cheers – Chris

    Like

  17. As a fellow artist I can appreciate your art and talent. Absolutely outstanding….can not believe it is done with crayons!

    Like

  18. Jessica Fone

    I like your theme of art, you are an amazing artist.
    I am an artist myself, but I can tell you I could not do
    such art with crayon.
    wow!!

    Like

  19. SharonJane

    I am extremely impressed with all the Talent Don Marco possesss, each one is breath taking, thank you for sharing your artist skills with me, and others. I would like to know where did you go to Special Art Universities [schools] to enhance your special artist talents and skills, Mr. Marco?
    Date: Thursday, 16th October 2008

    Like

  20. Again, you will have to direct any inquires directly to Don.

    Like

  21. Lkillingbeck

    “What makes great a great artist is not the utensils that are used to make the art, but the artist himself.”

    This is what I thought when I saw this.

    This goes to show you folks you don’t need fancy shmancy coloring tools such as Prismacolor Faber Castell Coppice markers these are the expensive brands that aspiring artists such as myself believe(d) would make their art look good, but nothing could be farther than the truth.

    I just decided to search “awesome artwork done with regular Crayola” and this popped up. It has made me hopeful to break away from having to rely on expensive brands like prismacolor and Copic. Dang. I mean, 120 bucks for colored pencils I can’t do.

    Mr. Don Marco, thank you for being an inspiration to me. I will develop my own style like you have for my own art and I will no longer be on the prismacolor Copic marker bandwagon though those are excellent utensils to use though cost an arm and a leg to get the right colors.

    -Lily Killingbeck-

    Like

Speak it or be silent!

