Update to HD

Sorry, I have not been online alot lately to regale you with jokes and misc. crap. I do have an excuse though. No, really, I do have an excuse.

You see several months ago, me and my wife had this bright idea. We figured with the housing bust that maybe lenders would be more likely to give a home loan to someone with “not so great” credit, like us. So we put a down a earnest deposit for a mobile home and hoped for the best.

After 2 months of dealing with the loan company, the best the mobile home rep could get for us was a conditional loan. That means, if we could get the bankrupstcy from over 8 years ago off of our credit report, then they would give us a loan.

That was the same as saying” You ain’t getting no loan from us!” because credit reporting agencies are not required to remove a bankruptcy for 10 yrs.

This chain of events led us to 2 conclusions.

1. We probably won’t have a chance at a home loan for another 2 yrs.

2. We had $2000.00 that was not going to be used for a down payment on a home loan.

So if you cannot get a new home, then do the next best thing. Make the place you live in better. Therefore, we went and bought a Samsung 42″ Plasma HDTV.

What most people do not realize when they go to HD TV is that there are additional costs involved. First you spend the the $1500.00 to $2000.00 for the HD TV, Then you have to upgrade your cable or satelite system to HD($100.00 to $200.00). If you want to watch HD movies, you have spend another $500.00-$1000.00 for a HD DVD player or a Blu-ray Disc player. One last thing that must be considered is video games. If you want them to be in HD you have to get a Xbox 360 or a Playstation 3.

I am sure you can see how easily this stuff begins to add up!

I guess, we were fortunate on some of these things. We already had the Xbox 360 and I was able to get the HD reciever for free from Directv. So now the only thing missing is a HD disc player. Gonna have to wait on that though. Like everyone else I am waiting to see who wins that war, HD DVD or Blu-ray Disc. Kinda off topic but this makes me wonder…If everyone is waiting to see who wins the HD Disc format war, how is anyone going to win?

At any rate, now everyone knows where AXE has been lately. I have been enjoying my new Plasma HD TV.

AXE

2 Comments

Filed under General Stuff, Thoughts

2 responses to “Update to HD

  1. Peri

    I’m glad you guys got yourselves such a nice TV.
    I understand about the credit thing, too. I don’t try anymore, because a few years of fiscal responsibility makes no difference to banks and other lenders. It’s that bad past that they see, not how well you’ve been doing since you’ve grown up and reached some sort of maturity.

    Like

  2. My credit has really been an almost non-issue since I have been stay at home dad for 15 yrs. now and have had very little credit.It was my wife’s credit that was looked down on.

    Impossible to keep your credit card payments up when you are un-employed for 9 months. Has nothing to do with maturity. Alot of people have had their credt screwed due to the downsizing of America.

    Oh and let me add something that is important to note. We live in this crappy run-down part of town. In fact, I believe we are the only white family in the area. If we could have afforded an additional $600.00 or more per month, we would have moved instead of getting the Plasma TV. Make no mistake about it though.We are poor and this Plasma TV is the nicest thing we own.

    AXE

    Like

Speak it or be silent!

