Puddytat is dead

 Yesterday we had to have him put down. This was not an easy decision to make. In fact, it was one of the hardest decisions I ever made. I loved that cat, yet I could not bear to see him suffer anymore. Ultimately, I had to decide what was best for Puddytat and not for myself. When I realized that simple fact, it left me only one answer. Puddytat would have wanted his pain and suffering to end. With multiple antibiotics and medicines, his condition just continued to worsen. He lost 2 pounds in the last month alone, and I heard on multiple occasions, his cries of pain when he was going to potty. There simply was no other fair option for him.

 I think he knew, or sensed on some level, that he was leaving me. He got up and actually played his favorite toy the day before he left us. I was rather amazed to see him do so, since the only things he really got up for was to eat and potty. He did not even follow me around like he used to. So he gave me the opportunity to get a couple of last day photos. I just breaks my heart to see how much weight he had lost due to his illness but I knew I had to take the pictures.

 

013 020 021

R.I.P. Puddytat

You are gone but shall forever have a permanent place, in the hearts of all those that you touched. Thank you for giving us 10 years of your awesome friendship and kindness. I loved you Puddytat and always will.

The only reason I am not completely insane with depression, and unable to type this, was the one good thing that happened yesterday. I knew that I would have problems dealing with his loss, and I also knew I would have problems, being alone and dealing with it. Thus, me and my wife decided to see, if we could save a cat from a shelter. The first place we visited we found an adorable, intelligent(so far), and loving female kitten, who we have named Jinxy. As I type this, she sleeps inside my jacket. I will share one picture of her in this post, as I do not want to take away too much attention, from the main purpose of this post.

039

I hope this little one helps my heart to mend or at the very least, provides enough distraction, so that I won’t spend every waking minute remembering our loss.

Axe

3 Comments

Filed under General Stuff, Pictures, Thoughts

3 responses to “Puddytat is dead

  1. I am so sorry for your loss but it was the best thing that you could have done. I have had to put some animals down and it breaks my heart. But getting another one so soon was a great decision. I tell people that when they loose their animals but most don’t listen. Again, I am so sorry for your loss but saving a shelter animal was a brilliant idea. I have numerous saved cats and even one dog who was a saved animal. I don’t know what I would do without them. Maybe sleep in?

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about Puddytat. He knew he was a much loved friend and he would have wanted you to fill that space in your heart. You’ll never forget him and Jinxy will never be a replacement. She will become a much loved friend too. I wish you all the very best and hope to see regular updates about your little kitty’s antics.

    Like

  3. I want to say “Thank You” to both of you for your kind words, your support, and your wisdom in this matter. Certain things both of you said rang true and made me feel a little bit better about what happened. 🙂

    Like

Speak it or be silent!

