Why I left Twitter again…sort of.

Many of my followers may know that about 3-4 yrs. ago I was at Twitter. I had over 25k followers and got tired of just being ignored by 99.99% of them. After losing years of my life, I had enough. I took some time away from social media. Truthfully, I really needed the break. Twitter was the very last social media website I left. I was free to just goof off. But after awhile, even that becomes boring. The drive to create always sneaks back in.

Fast forward to now and realize, the plandemic has come and gone. The world sits on more shaky ground, and Elon Musk now owns Twitter. I thought well maybe. The problem with maybe is usually maybe is a NO! I had hoped that a return to Twitter would be different. It was different. But not in a good way. The platform that wasted my money and time earlier had just become more of the negative and less of the positive. The only time people comment is political crap. I made over 200 posts and received less than 5 comments TOTAL. Likes were only slightly better. After 4 months I had gained less than 1000 followers. Using basic math, it is clear it would take over 10 yrs. to get just 30k followers. To get an amount that might actually make a difference, well, that would take longer than I will probably live.

I suppose this speaks volumes about all the things Social Media has done to drive people away from their platforms and really, I could write for days on all those flaws. Heck, I even know how to fix Social Media. But then I would be giving something to world that they don’t deserve. Honestly, how many people really feel mankind has shown anything but hatred that few years toward each other. How many times have I seen people treat each other badly on the internet? Our behavior does not deserve to be rewarded, thus I will just let Social Media die off. Social Media companies and the people both seem to want this, whether they realize it or not.

At any rate, all of my blog posts and my portfolio posts will be published indirectly to Twitter. There is no sense in going to Twitter for engagement, when there is none. Instead, I shall begin work on my photography blog. Even though I have been doing photography for more than 10 yrs. I never bothered with a blog. I think the time has come. I also plan on setting up a store at Etsy. This store will feature all my photos and artworks in both digital and physical forms. Thus giving customers, more options, at less cost than Fine Art America, where I currently have all my creations. My new photography blog will be here . Bookmark it and visit often. I promise, it will be exciting!

Human and A.I. artwork created recently.

Hope to see everyone at the new blog. Take care and have a magikal day!

JB

Leave a comment

Filed under Announcements, General Stuff, Pictures

Speak it or be silent!