As for Instagram

I thought since I spoke briefly about 500 px, it would only be fair to include another popular social photo sharing website…Instagram.

I find it remarkable and completely idiotic that people use this site. Any TRUE professional would never use this app or site. Did you know the second you upload a picture to Instagram, they own all rights to it? Yes, they can use your photos and make money off of your photos, without giving you single penny. So why would any serious photographer use this site/app? Seriously! I don’t know about you but my equipment costs far too much to just be giving away my final product, and that is not even considering all the time spent on processing the pictures.

To be honest, I’m slightly miffed at the app/site because I got my account temporarily suspended. Why? I have no clue! They never told me why and they suspended me without investigating. Seems like shady business practices going on there. Yes, I could go back and post more photos, but I most certainly will not. I do not trust any site that suspends people for no reason without investigating and then unsuspends an account with explanation. That is far out of my comfort zone. It should be noted that I did nothing wrong and I have never been suspended from ANY website…EVER!

Instagram also has the same kind of people who do nothing, but follow and unfollow. I think all of these “social” websites need to re-think showing how many followers people have. It seems to force the ignorant into doing stupid things like I mentioned above. If the site is supposed to be social, tell me exactly why the fuck it matters how many people follow each other? That is not social, that is a completely competitive atmosphere!

At any rate, I have spoken enough about this subject to leave a bad taste in my mouth. Time to go rinse! Take care!

Axe

 

Leave a comment

Filed under General Stuff, Pictures

Speak it or be silent!